What's the difference between a dry measuring cup and a liquid measuring cup?

Both dry and wet measuring cups, hold 8 ounces of something by volume, but the ingredients do not always weigh 8 ounces. A liquid cup uses marks on a glass or plastic cup. A dry cup uses the top of the cup brim to measure 1 cup. Liquids usually weigh more than dry ingredients.