What are lightsabers made out of?

The lightsaber was a weapon usually used by the Jedi, the Sith, and other Force-sensitives. Lightsabers consisted of a plasma blade, powered by a kyber crystal, that was emitted from a usually metal hilt and could be shut off at will.

---

In the fictional Star Wars universe, lightsabers consist of a handgrip, blade emitter, activator switch, battery, and focusing crystal (the kyber crystal creates the blade). Lightsabers seem to be mostly metallic material, but can also be organic, as a Wookie lightsaber can be made from wood.