What are lightsabers made out of?

In the fictional Star Wars universe, lightsabers consist of a handgrip, blade emitter, activator switch, battery, and focusing crystal (the kyber crystal creates the blade). Lightsabers seem to be mostly metallic material, but can also be organic, as a Wookie lightsaber can be made from wood.