What two countries fought in the revolutionary war?

The American Revolutionary War, also known as the American War of Independence, was initiated by the thirteen original colonies in Congress against the Kingdom of Great Britain over their objection to Parliament's direct taxation and its lack of colonial representation.

---

England fought the 13 colonies that eventually became the United States.