Where do nectarine trees grow?

Nectarine trees grow best in USDA hardiness zones five through nine, and they thrive in climates with hot summers. In order to grow effectively, most nectarine varieties also require a cold dormancy period with winter temperatures below 45 degrees Fahrenheit.