What does it mean when someone says black lives matter?

Black Lives Matter, or BLM, is a concept and phrase to support and bring awareness to oppression of black people, usually in the U.S.. The phrase may be incorrectly assumed to mean that Black Lives Matter more than others, but is actually intended for promotion of racial equality.