What is in curry sauce?

There are a variety of recipes available, and many of them have different ingredients. One recipe uses 1 tablespoon ghee (clarified butter), 1 onion, diced small, 1 heaping tablespoon yellow curry powder or Madras curry powder, and 14 oz coconut milk.