When were scrunchies made?

The Scrunchie was invented by Philips E. Meyers in 1963 but was not patented until 1987 by Ronny Revson, who named the decorative hair accessory the Scunci after her pet toy poodle. The name Scrunchie was a natural evolution, because the fabric scrunched up.