What does saccharine mean?

sac·cha·rine /ˈsak(ə)rən/ Learn to pronounce adjective 1. excessively sweet or sentimental. "saccharine music" Similar: sentimental oversentimental sugary sickening 2. DATED relating to or containing sugar; sugary. noun another term for saccharin.