What mountain is the tallest mountain in the world?

The world's tallest mountain technically is not Mount Everest. Mount Everest is the tallest mountain above sea level, but if we're talking sheer height here, base to summit, then the tallest mountain is Mauna Kea on the island of Hawaii.