When did the witch trials start?

The witch trials, in Salem Mass., started in the spring of sixteen ninety-two. Eighteen young girls started accusing other members of the colony of being witches. Before it was over, one hundred and fifty people had been hung. Science wonders if it was all caused by ergot poisoning.