Who was erik the red?

Per Wikipedia, Erik Thorvaldsson, known as Erik the Red, was a Norse explorer, described in medieval and Icelandic sagas as having founded the first settlement in Greenland. The name "the Red" most likely refers to the color of his hair and beard. Icelandic explorer Leif Erikson was Erik's son.