When did the tacoma narrows bridge collapse?

The first Tacoma Narrows Bridge opened to traffic on July 1, 1940. Its main span collapsed into the Tacoma Narrows four months later on November 7, 1940, as a result of aeroelastic flutter caused by wind 42 mph (68 kmph).