What would happen if an asteroid hit the earth?

Depending on the over all size and mass of the asteroid; one might enjoy the visual atmospheric light show. Furthermore, it is possible the asteroid might create a sonic boom once it reaches our planets dense atmosphere. The results which could be life extinction level or disappear into the abyss.