When was the song rock of ages written?

Rock of ages, was released in 1983, recorded by the band Def Leppard. It was on the album Pyromania.

---

"Rock of Ages" is a popular Christian hymn written by the Reformed Anglican minister, the Reverend Augustus Toplady, in 1763 and first published in The Gospel Magazine in 1775. (Wikipedia)