Where was jingle bells written?

First published in 1857, it was written to be sung on Thanksgiving, not Christmas. There is some question as to where it was written. Massachusetts & Georgia both are plausible. Medford, Mass., where sleigh races were popular in the 1800s, claims itself as the birthplace of the song.