What is the shelf life of a bottle of wine?

Was the shelf in a closet? Was the bottle stored in the heat? Was the bottle stored standing up, or laying on its side to keep the cork wet? All of these effect the long term life of the wine in the bottle. And if it was 2 buck chuck it wasn't good brand new. Years, it should last years