Why is it called a bull market?

The terms "bear" and "BULL" are derived from the way each animal attacks its opponents. That is, a BULL will thrust its horns up into the air, while a bear will swipe down. Thus, if the trend of the market is up, it is considered a BULL market. If the trend is down, it is a bear market.