What is it mean when mercury is in retrograde?

Retrograde is when a planet appears to go backward in its orbit, as viewed from Earth. Astronomers refer to this as “apparent retrograde motion,” because it is an optical illusion. In Astrology it is thought to be a time when there is disruption and a breakdown of communication in people's lives.

---

It means Mercury will look like it is doing a zigzag in the sky. Beause Mercury is the planet said to rule communication, those who are astrologically inclined expect frequent misunderstandings, scheduling problems and disagreements with friends during this period.