Where did h. one n. one come from?

The CDC believes the H1N1 virus resulted from re-assortment, a process through which two or more influenza viruses swap genetic information by infecting a single host. This appears most likely to have occurred between influenza viruses in North American pig herds and among Eurasian pig herds.