Who is the great pretender?

Tony Williams, the lead singer of the Platters sang the song, written by song writer Buck Ram, The Great Pretender about an imaginary lonely guy pretending to be hapoy so he can meet women. The song has been performed by Queen and Dolly Parton and inspired the name of the group The Pretenders.