How cold is the pacific ocean?

Winter temperatures in the Pacific Ocean along California's coast typically range from 60 degrees Fahrenheit off Newport Beach on the southern coast to 51 degrees Fahrenheit at Crescent City and Trinidad near the state's northern end.