Why is cold air more dense than warm air?

As a substance gets warmer, it’s atoms become more energized, moving around quicker and quicker the hotter the substance gets. The rapidly moving atoms push each other aside and move around so that the air is less dense as a result. Colder substances have less energy and don’t push each other aside