What is a reverse bear trap?

The Reverse Bear Trap is a trap from the Saw franchise, appearing on several occasions throughout the series. It was a mechanical contraption that was attached to its victims' head and secured with a padlock. A timer was attached to the back of it. It rips their head open at the end of the timer.