What is the seersucker suit?

Seersucker is a classic cotton fabric to beat the heat, used mainly in the southern U.S. The distinctive characteristic that all seersucker pieces have is a unique puckering in the cloth. A seersucker suit consists of a coat and pants made from that fabric.