Does garlic grow above ground or below ground?

Garlic grows below ground, so it's not easy to tell when the bulb has matured. What's the trick of knowing when to harvest garlic? The short answer is: It's all in the leaves (or rather, the proper ratio of dead leaves to green leaves).