How long does frozen meat stay good?

4 months Properly cooking and then eating food that had stayed frozen at 0°F for years won't necessarily get you sick, but you probably won't like how it tastes. The USDA recommends tossing uncooked roasts, steaks, and chops after a year in the freezer, and uncooked ground meat after just 4 months.