What's the difference between debit and credit?

Money you EARN or are given, like a paycheck from your job or a tax return, is a DEBIT. DEBITS are ADDED TO your checking account balance. Money you PAY to others, like paying the electric or cable bill, is a CREDIT. CREDITS are REMOVED FROM your checking account balance.