How do sunflowers grow?

It's best to sow sunflower seeds directly into the soil after the danger of spring frost has passed. Ideally, the soil temperature has reached 55 to 60 degrees F (13–16°C). Give plants plenty of room, especially for low-growing varieties that will branch out.