What kind of nut is a buckeye?

A Buckeye is the seed of the Buckeye tree. The name refers to the resemblance of the nutlike seed, which has a pale patch on a shiny red-brown surface, to the eye of a deer. Both the young foliage and the seeds are poisonous.