Who invented brownies?

Credit for the invention of brownies goes to Bertha Palmer, at her direction they were made and served at the Columbian Exposition Worlds Fair in 1893. However the first person to ever put a brownie recipe in a cook book was Fanny Farmer in 1896, but get this, they contained no chocolate!