What is sour soursop?

Soursop is the fruit of Annona muricata, a broadleaf, flowering, evergreen tree. The exact origin is unknown; it is native to the tropical regions of the Americas and the Caribbean and is widely propagated. Soursop is typically eaten raw by cutting the fruit in half and scooping out the flesh.