Where did pigs in a blanket come from?

The term “pigs in a blanket” often refers to hot dogs, Vienna sausages, cocktail or breakfast link sausages wrapped in biscuit dough, pancake, or croissant dough, and baked. The first written record of pigs in a blanket occurs in Betty Crocker's Cooking for Kids in 1957.