Do female dogs get spayed or neutered?

Female dogs are spayed, a procedure in which the dog’s ovaries and uterus are removed, rendering the dog unable to reproduce and eliminating her heat cycle.

---

Female dogs are spayed

---

Spaying a dog refers to the removal of a female dog's reproductive organs, while neutering refers to the procedure that's done for males. When a female dog is spayed, the vet removes her ovaries and usually her uterus as well.