How long does it take for a bamboo pole to decompose?

A bamboo pole, if untreated and subject to average environmental conditions, could take up to 10 years to decompose fully. If exposed to harsher conditions, it can be only a couple of years. Initial signs of decomposition can normally be noticed after 3 months of environmental exposure.