How many players play in hockey team?

NHL teams are only allowed to dress a maximum of 20 players – 18 skaters and two goaltenders – for any given game, but those 20 must come from the 23-player active roster. Both the 23-player active roster and 20-player game roster can change day-to-day and game-to-game.