Why is new mexico called new mexico?

The Spanish settlers named the lands Nuevo México after the Aztec Valley of the Rio Grande River in Mexico. Contrary to popular belief, New Mexico never was part of Mexico. In fact, New Mexico was established and named 223 years before the naming of Mexico in 1821.