How do you get wax off of things?

Xylene is a wax solvent. You can purchase xylene in most paint or home improvement stores. Be aware that it should only be used in a well-ventilated area since its fumes can be toxic and cause dizziness. After Dissolving wax in xylene, you will need to wash the affected item in soap and water.