Give me more definitions for try?

To try is to make an attempt or effort to do something. It can also be to subject (someone) to legal trial. To try can be to use, test, or do (something new or different) in order to see if it is suitable, effective, or pleasant. A try is an effort to accomplish something; an attempt.