Why did they stop making one thousand dollar bills?

The Treasury announced on July 14, 1969, that it would quit issuing the $500, $1,000, $5,000, and $10,000 notes, since the bills were so sparsely circulated. It's not like the Bureau of Engraving and Printing had to stop the presses, either; the bills hadn't seen an actual print run since 1945.

---

Grover Cleveland was on the US One Thousand dollar bill. The last printing run of the bill was in 1945, with a series date of 1934 printed on the bill. issued out until discontinued, for lack of demand, in 1969, they remain legal tender but are no longer printed or issued out for circulation.