What are facts about guinea pigs?

Domesticated guinea pigs, live up to eight years, although three to five years is the typical life span. No natural population of this species exists in the wild. It feeds largely on grass and green plants. Domesticated in pre-Incan times, it was introduced into Europe in the early 16th century.