Is a carrot a veggie?

Carrots are root vegetables that were 1st grown in Afghanistan around 900 AD. Orange may be their best-known color, but they also come in other hues, including purple, yellow, red, & white. This popular & versatile veggie may taste slightly different depending on the color, size, & where it's grown.