How do you grow a cherry tree from a cherry pit?

Clean fresh cherry pits of excess fruit, by soaking and scrubbing in warm water. Let the pits thoroughly dry, and store in a cold refrigerator for at least 3 months. Then, plant the seeds in good soil and water. The seeds will germinate and grow a new tree.

---

Space seeds about 12 inches apart and thin or transplant in one to two years. Alternatively, sow each seed in a 4-inch planting pot filled with potting soil and set in a sunny location, such as a windowsill. Sow seeds half inch deep and water the soil so it is slightly moist.