How do you grow a cherry tree from a cherry pit?

Clean fresh cherry pits of excess fruit, by soaking and scrubbing in warm water. Let the pits thoroughly dry, and store in a cold refrigerator for at least 3 months. Then, plant the seeds in good soil and water. The seeds will germinate and grow a new tree.