How many named hurricanes?

there is no actual count. they started naming hurricanes in the early 1800s and used saint's names, until the late 1800s when they started using female names. a fixed list didn't come about until 1979, when the WMO created 6 lists, to be reused every 7 years, with the exception of a severe storm