What are flies good for?

Flies that visit flowers are helpful in the pollination of flowering plants. Some flies feed on aphids, moth caterpillars, and beetle grubs, reducing numbers of those pests. Some fly species have been used extensively in studies of genetics because of their short lifespans and ease of culturing.