How do you get a pet in the sims four?

On the computer, hit 'Household' and go to 'Adopt', and there, you will get the option to get either a cat or dog. If you're using the phone, click the household icon and select 'Hire a Service'. When your sim finishes calling, select either 'Adopt Cat' or 'Adopt Dog'.