What's a skin plant?

Skin plant? Geez, sounds horrific! Did you mean "What's a plant skin?" Well, all plants have a skin, called a cuticle, that covers the above-ground surfaces. It is composed of waxes and a polymer network -- a large molecule made of fatty acid building blocks called cutin that are bonded together.