How do you tell if a venus flytrap is dead?

Dig your flytrap up & check out the rhizome, the part between the leaves and the roots that sits just under the soil. If it's white and firm, your plant is alive and well! If it's black and mushy, you unfortunately have a dead plant on your hands.