Why do cats get zoomies?

The most common reason cats experience the zoomies is pent-up energy. Cats rest and sleep for most of the day to conserve energy for short, very active periods. Without intentional exercise and activity, kitty will need to find a way to get that extra energy out, resulting in a case of the zoomies.