Why are pajamas called pajamas?

The word pyjama was borrowed circa 1800 from the Hindustani who took from the Persians. The original pyjāmā were loose, lightweight trousers fitted with drawstring waistbands and were worn by many Indian Muslims, as well as Sikhs and Hindus. They were adopted by Europeans as lounging attire.