Does beans give you gas?

Beans (legumes) cause gas because they contain a particular sugar, called an oligosaccharide, that the human body can not break down fully. ... This is because the human body actually does not produce the enzyme that breaks down oligosaccharides.

---

Yes, Beans (legumes) cause gas because they contain a particular sugar, called an oligosaccharide, that the human body can not break down fully.

---

Beans contain large sugar molecules called oligosaccharide that are not broken down by the digestive system until they reach the large intestine. The breaking down of these molecules causes fermentation in the large intestine that produce flatulance, or gas.